THE SCHOOL DISTRICT OF STURGEON BAY

Regular Board of Education Meeting Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Vice President Jennerjohn called the regular meeting to order at 7:01 PM in the high school library. Present: Spritka, Schulz, Howard, Kruse, Jennerjohn, Chisholm, Wood and Haus. Excused: Stephani. Also present were: Superintendent Tjernagel, J Holtz, K Nerby, L Ferry, M. Smullen, K Smullen, K DeVillers, J Paye-Weber & DeMeuse.

Motion: Wood/Spritka to adopt the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>STUDENT COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE REPORT:</u> Keirsten Mellen reported that the new officers were announced and set to begin their terms. First item they are tasked with is deciding the Homecoming theme/dates for next year. Incoming President will be Isabella (Izzy) Jimenez Seyfer. Preparations are under way for Teacher Appreciation Week (May 6-10).

<u>PUBLIC COMMENT SECTION</u>—also known as audience to visitors and delegations (as noted in Board Policy 0167.3 Public Participation at Board Meetings): None.

<u>RECOGNITION:</u> Student Recognition of our SBHS High Honors Graduates. The following students have earned above a 4.0: Tori Alger, Gavin Forest, Mercedes Hanley, Jack Henry, Julia Kurek, Amelia Langfeldt, Natalia Michalski, Ellie Propsom, Madeline Propsom, Calvin Richard, Ben Stephens, Jade Tomberlin and Garrett Ulberg.

CONSENT AGENDA:

- 1. Approve Minutes
 - a. March 20, 2024 Regular Board of Education meeting
 - b. April 3, 2024 Learning Session
- 2. Approve March bills
- 3. Accept Grants and Donations:
 - > \$115 donated by Shawn Wautier for the lunch program
 - > \$3,000 anonymous donation for Rock the Dock
 - > \$500 Hainesville Lutheran Church Women's Group to support families with lunch balances owed
 - ➤ \$645 Sturgeon Bay PTO for kindergarten field trip to NEW Zoo
 - > In Kind donation from Target of a pallet of ice melt

Thank you to everyone associated with providing this support to our district and young people.

4. Approve Resignations and Retirements – Amanda Fruzen has resigned from her Registrar position in the high school. Drew Demeny has provided a revised date for his resignation of April 19, 2024.

Motion Haus/Wood to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

OPERATIONS AGENDA:

- 1. Consent Agenda items requiring attention (if any)
- 2. Filing of Oath of Office by Newly Elected Board Members

The Board of Canvassers met April 9, 2024. This is a required step that verifies election results. The group's canvass of the results provided to the district did indeed match what was reported previously.

The new terms of office begin April 22, 2024 (the 4th Monday in April). Board Clerk Beth Chisholm administered the Oath of Office and swore in the elected Board of Education members, so they are ready to begin their service next week. Angela Kruse, Cathy Meyer and Wayne Spritka will serve three-year terms expiring in April of 2027. Damion Howard will serve a two-year term expiring in April of 2026.

3. Appoint Delegate to the CESA 7 Annual Convention

Motion Chisholm/Spritka to appoint Allison Haus as the representative to the CESA 7 annual convention. Motion carried unanimously.

4. Approve Individual Contracts for Returning Teachers

Motion Schulz/Chisholm to approve individual contracts for all returning teachers. Motion carried unanimously.

5. Approve Sub Caller Position

Motion Kruse/Howard to approve Jessica Holtz as the Sub Caller for the district. Motion carried unanimously.

6. Approve Kitchen Employee

Motion Haus/Wood to approve Yordanka Angelova as a Food Service staff member. Motion carried unanimously.

7. Approve Maintenance Employee

Motion Howard/Chisholm to approve Cindy Delchambre as a General Custodian in the maintenance department. Motion carried unanimously.

- 8. Approve Teaching Positions
 - a. Motion Haus/Spritka to approve Brinna Rasmussen as the Middle School ELA Teacher beginning with the 2024-2025 year. Motion carried unanimously.
 - b. Middle School Special Education-tabled
 - c. Motion Howard/Haus to approve Scott Krumsee as the Door County Alternative Program (DCAP) Teacher beginning with the 2024-2025 school year. Motion carried unanimously.
 - d. High School English-tabled
 - e. Motion Spritka/Schulz to approve Brinley Gordon as a First Grade Teacher at Sawyer School beginning with the 2024-2025 school year. Motion carried unanimously.
- 9. Approve Associate Positions
 - a. Motion Chisholm/Haus to approve Kayla Londo as a Special Education Teacher Associate at Sawyer School. Motion carried unanimously.
 - b. Motion Kruse/Spritka to approve Lynette Tank as a Safe Harbor Teacher Associate at Sawyer School. Motion carried unanimously.
- 10. School Safety Drill Summaries Summaries reviewed.

11. Reports:

- a. Legislative none
- b. CESA none
- c. Committee/Seminars none.
- d. Administrative Reports presented.
- e. Superintendent's Report presented.

12. Executive Session

Motion: Schulz/Spritka to adjourn to Executive Session, with roll call vote, at 8:40 PM noting the board will be going into closed session per statute19.85(1) (c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. Items being discussed are: Review of Staff Evaluations for Nomination of 2024 Hervey Hauser Award, Consideration of Professional Staff Member Leave of Absence Request. Present: Commissioners Spritka, Schulz, Howard, Kruse, Jennerjohn, Chisholm, Wood, Haus. Excused: Stephani. Motion carried unanimously.

- 1. Review of Staff Evaluations for Nomination of 2024 Hervey Hauser Award: No action taken.
- 2. Motion Schulz/Wood to not approve Professional Staff Member Leave of Absence Request. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion: Chisholm/Kruse to return to open session at 9:05 PM.

13. Adjourn Motion: Wood/Haus to adjourn at 9:06 PM. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Ann DeMeuse Administrative Assistant

Date:	
President's Signature:	

Recordings of the Board meetings can be located at: https://www.sturbay.k12.wi.us/district/board-of-education